Cano, 12 others reject qualifying offers

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 11/11/2013 7:34 pm

New York, NY ( - All 13 major league baseball players who received qualifying offers from their teams have declined them at Monday's deadline, the Players Association announced.

The list includes three members of the 2013 world champion Boston Red Sox -- center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury, first baseman Mike Napoli and shortstop Stephen Drew -- as well as three New York Yankees in second baseman Robinson Cano, outfielder Curtis Granderson and pitcher Hiroki Kuroda.

Also rejecting the one-year, $14.1 million tenders were St. Louis Cardinals slugger Carlos Beltran, Cincinnati Reds outfielder Shin-Soo Choo, Texas Rangers outfielder Nelson Cruz, Atlanta Braves catcher Brian McCann, Cleveland Indians pitcher Ubaldo Jimenez, Seattle Mariners first baseman Kendrys Morales and Kansas City Royals hurler Ervin Santana.

All 13 players are now free to sign with any team. The majority of the group -- and especially in the cases of Cano, Ellsbury, Choo, McCann and Cruz -- are expected to land multi-year contracts with a higher annual average value than the initial offers they received.

By submitting a qualifying offer to a free agent, that player's team will receive a compensatory pick between the first and second rounds of next June's First-Year Player Draft if he signs with another club.

Solid Blue News
Cats' Golden Opportunity Tarnished
Solid Effort Spoiled In 3-OT Loss To Gators Video Video

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital. supports children's privacy rights. All persons under the age of 13 MUST have parental permission to use this website and direct parental supervision is strongly recommended.