UK To Participate in CBS Sports Classic

UK To Participate in CBS Sports Classic

Cats also hosting Texas in 2014-15 season as part of SEC / Big 12 Challenge.

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The University of Kentucky men’s basketball program, along with North Carolina, Ohio State and UCLA, in conjunction with CBS Sports, has agreed to play in the inaugural CBS Sports Classic for the next three years, it was announced on Wednesday.

The event, pitting four of the winningest programs in college basketball history, will rotate through the cities of Chicago (2014), Brooklyn (2015) and Las Vegas (2016). All six games will be broadcast by CBS.

“This event will feature programs that represent 25 national championships, which is remarkable,” UK head coach John Calipari said. “Not only that, some of the best fan bases in college basketball will have the opportunity to see us play in three major venues against some of the top programs in the country. We’re excited to be part of an event of this caliber for the next three seasons.”

The event debuts at the United Center in Chicago on Dec. 20.  North Carolina will take on Ohio State at 1 p.m. ET, followed by UCLA vs. Kentucky at 3:30 p.m. ET.   

The “CBS Sports Classic” moves to the Barclays Center in Brooklyn on Dec. 19, 2015, and then travels to Las Vegas in December 2016. CBS Sports retains the exclusive distribution and marketing rights to the event. 

In addition, CBS Sports will stream the games exclusively on and the CBS Sports mobile app for iPhone, iPad and Android.

CBS Sports Classic Matchups/Locations

2014 - Saturday, Dec. 20 (Chicago)
North Carolina vs. Ohio State – 1 p.m. ET
UCLA vs. Kentucky – 3:30 p.m. ET

2015 - Saturday, Dec. 19 (Brooklyn)

2016 - (Las Vegas)

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Kentucky will host Texas on Dec. 5 in Rupp Arena as part of the SEC/Big 12 Challenge the league offices and ESPN announced Wednesday afternoon.

This marks the second season of the challenge between the two conferences. UK played Baylor at AT&T Stadium as a part of the event in 2013.

All 10 games of the event in 2014 will be played at home sites with each conference hosting five games. All 10 member institutions of the Big 12 conference will participate, while all but four (Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi State and Texas A&M) from the SEC will participate in the event in 2014.

Every game will be televised on one of the ESPN platform (ESPN, ESPN2, or ESPNU).

This year’s meeting between Kentucky and Texas will mark just the second meeting in program history. The two previously met during the Maui Invitational during the 1993-94 season. UK captured the win by an 86-61 score en route to the Invitational championship.

2014 SEC/Big 12 Challenge schedule (times and networks are to be determined):

Wednesday, Dec. 3
Auburn at Texas Tech

Thursday, Dec. 4

Arkansas at Iowa State
LSU at West Virginia

TCU at Ole Miss
Baylor at Vanderbilt

Friday, Dec. 5

Florida at Kansas

Texas at Kentucky

Missouri at Oklahoma

Saturday, Dec. 6

Oklahoma State at South Carolina
Kansas State at Tennessee

Page: [[$index + 1]]