SEC Adopts 18-Game Schedule, Adjusts Tourney

Reported by: Dan Rieffer
Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 6/02/2012 12:11 am
The SEC officially announced it will go to an 18-game conference schedule and has made changes to the league tourney.

DESTIN, Fla. - The Southeastern Conference officially announced on Friday that it will go to an 18-game conference schedule beginning with the 2012-'13 basketball season.

Each school has been designated a permanent "rival" opponent, guaranteeing a home-and-home series between the schools. Kentucky has been assigned Florida.

Also, each school will play four rotating teams twice, which will be chosen at random.

The SEC tournament will include all 14 member institutions and begin first round play on Wednesday rather than Thursday, as it has in the past. The top four seeds will receive double byes into Friday's quarterfinal round.
0 Comment(s)
Comments: Show | Hide

Here are the most recent story comments.View All

No comments yet!

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital. supports children's privacy rights. All persons under the age of 13 MUST have parental permission to use this website and direct parental supervision is strongly recommended.