Georgetown's Cronin regional coach of year

Georgetown's Cronin regional coach of year

Georgetown College's Bill Cronin was named an NAIA regional coach of the year by the American Football Coaches Association.
Georgetown College's Bill Cronin was named an NAIA regional coach of the year by the American Football Coaches Association.

Georgetown College’s Bill Cronin joins very good company as the American Football Coaches Association released its 2011 Regional Coach of the Year winners Tuesday morning. AFCA selects coaches from five regions in each football division for a total of at least 25 winners. There were two ties in the NAIA division for 27 coaches being honored this season for their 2011 campaign. Among those coaches are Louisiana State University’s Les Miles, Oklahoma State University’s Mike Gundy, Clemson University’s Dabo Swinney and Eastern Kentucky University’s Dean Hood.

In his 15 years at the helm of the Tigers, Cronin has been named National Head Coach of the Year twice, Mid-South Conference Coach of the Year six times, and just this year is receiving his first AFCA Regional Coach of the Year honor. He and Lindsey Wilson College’s Chris Oliver were selected as co-Region 1 winners. GC went 12-1, winning its second straight MSC East Division Title and advancing to the 2011 NAIA Football Championship Series Semifinals. Oliver directed the Blue Raiders to a 7-3 finish in just the program’s second season and a second place finish in the East.

The AFCA began recognizing district coaches of the year following the 1960 season. The awards were established the same year Eastman Kodak agreed to sponsor the AFCA Coach of the Year award. Prior to 1960, the Scripps-Howard newspaper chain had sponsored the program, which recognized one national Coach of the Year.

The AFCA first recognized eight district winners in each of two divisions: university and college. In 1972, a ninth district was added in each division.

In 1983, the award was changed to recognize regional winners instead of district winners, and the number of divisions was increased from two to four, and five regional winners were selected in each division. This resulted in a more equitable selection process and better represented the make-up of the membership. At the same time, the new system increased the number of honorees from 18 to 20.

In 2006, the AFCA Division II Award was split into separate Division II and NAIA divisions, giving us the 25 winners we now recognize.


2011 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Football Bowl Subdivision

Region 1: Dabo Swinney, Clemson University

Region 2: Les Miles, Louisiana State University

Region 3: Kevin Sumlin, University of Houston

Region 4: Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State University

Region 5: David Shaw, Stanford University


Football Championship Subdivision

Region 1: Rob Ambrose, Towson University

Region 2: Jeff Monken, Georgia Southern University

Region 3: Dean Hood, Eastern Kentucky University

Region 4: Craig Bohl, North Dakota State University

Region 5: Willie Fritz, Sam Houston State University


Division II 

Region 1: Raymond Monica, Kutztown University*

Region 2: Ron Roberts, Delta State University

Region 3: Keith Otterbein, Hillsdale College

Region 4: Bill Maskill, Midwestern State University

Region 5: John Wristen, Colorado State University-Pueblo


Division III

Region 1: Sherman Wood, Salisbury University

Region 2: Jim Margraff, Johns Hopkins University

Region 3: Steve Mohr, Trinity University (Texas)

Region 4: Larry Kehres, University of Mount Union*

Region 5: Stan Zweifel, University of Dubuque



Region 1: Bill Cronin, Georgetown College (Ky.) &

               Chris Oliver, Lindsey Wilson College (tie)

Region 2: Ted Karras, Jr., Marian University (Ind.)

Region 3: Jonathan Quinn, MidAmerica Nazarene University*

Region 4: Matt Franzen, Doane College &

               Steve Ryan, Morningside College (tie)

Region 5: Mike Cochran, Southern Nazarene University

*-2010 winner

Page: [[$index + 1]]